Mega Diverse Group of Countries

On the initiative of Mexico, in February 2002, the environment ministers and representatives of the countries of Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Colombia, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Mexico, Peru, South Africa and Venezuela smet in Cancun, Quintana Roo, to form the Group of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries in order to address the issues  
that were pending within the framework of the Convention on Biological Diversity such as the use of genetic resources as well as the fair and equitable distribution of benefits arising from their use. In the same year, Bolivia, Malaysia and the Philippines were incorporated. In 2010 Guatemala and Iran joined.
Currently this group meets to negotiate issues of common interest and others established within the framework of the Convention.